w32codecs working for .mov files

Xine player logoContinuing with the series of posts about my findings while installing Ubuntu 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon) on my new laptop ASUS X51RL, there is one more thing that was a little bit tricky to get working, and that I would like to comment here.

Since I want to use this laptop as a media center (using Freevo), I need to be able to play videos using Xine (because it is one of the engines that Freevo can use to display videos, as well as Mplayer).

The problem came with the videos recorded using my Sony DSC-H2 camera. I installed the w32codecs available in the canonical repository and also those from the medibuntu repository but with both of them I was unable to see the image correctly (with the package from medibuntu repository I could at least listen to the sound).

Finally, I added the greole repositories:

deb http://ubuntu.geole.info/ gutsy universe multiverse
deb-src http://ubuntu.geole.info/ gutsy universe multiverse

to install Freevo, and I also upgraded the w32codecs package. After doing that, the .MOV videos were correctly rendered without any problem in Xine, Totem, etc.

2 comments so far

  1. adit on

    would you mind telling me, step by step instructions how to do this

    i’ve problem with mov file on ubuntu gutsy

  2. rofranco on

    Try following this tutorial to add the two lines with the repositories:

    deb http://ubuntu.geole.info/ gutsy universe multiverse
    deb-src http://ubuntu.geole.info/ gutsy universe multiverse

    It may look complicated but it’s not.

    Good luck!!


Responder

